Air Berlin Business Class Review

Air Berlin Business Class Review
11/03/2017 pilotpatrick
flying in airberlin business cass

„So sehr ich es auch mag selbst zu fliegen, genieße ich genauso die Zeit als Passagier. Vor allem wenn ich komfortabel per Flugzeug reise. „

Mein letzter Fernflug war letzten Januar in der Business Class mit Lufthansa nach Kapstadt. Deshalb war ich super gespannt mit Air Berlin in deren Business Class für einen spontanen Urlaub in die Karibik zu fliegen. Air Berlin bietet „non stop“ Verbindungen von Berlin und Düsseldorf zu verschiedenen Zielen in Nordamerika, Mittelamerika und Abu Dhabi an.

Der Hinflug startete mit einer kurzen Verzögerung in Düsseldorf. Der Flug AB7446 startete um 09:50 nach Punta Cana (PUJ) und landete bereits um 14:30 im Paradies. Der Rückflug AB7315 ging direkt nach Berlin, ankunft war um 16:50.  Lese hier mein Review über mein Flugerlebnis in der Air Berlin Business Class.

flying in airberlin business cass

Der Sitz

Da Air Berlin keine First Class anbietet, ist die Business Class deren Premium Produkt. Die Business Class befindet sich im vorderen Bereich von deren A330 langstrecken Flotte. Mit gerade einmal 19 Sitzen ist die Kabine angenehm intim und ruhig. Das ist ein großer Vorteil gegenüber anderen großen Airlines, deren Kabinen um einiges größer und lauter sind. Alle Business Class Sitze haben einen direkten Zugang zum Gang und können in ein flaches Bett umwandeln. Ich bin 1,86 m groß und ich konnte mich komplett ausstrecken. Zwar konnte ich bequem auf dem Rücken und der Seite liegen, allerdings fand ich die Sitzbreite ein kleinwenig zu schmal.

Mein Sitz 4K war an der Außenseite direkt am Fenster gelegen. Dies garantierte noch einmal etwas mehr Privatsphäre und bedingt durch die Krümmung der Kabine etwas mehr Platz für die Schulter. Die Plätze am Gang haben den Vorteil, dass man leichter rein und raus kommt. Die sechs Sitze in der Mitte kann ich nur für Paare, die zusammen reisen empfehlen, da diese sehr nahe beieinander liegen.

flying in airberlin business cass
flying in airberlin business cass

Bedauerlicherweise hat meine Bordunterhaltung (inflight entertainment) weder auf dem Hin- noch Rückflug reibungslos funktioniert. Auch empfand ich die Aufbewahrungsmöglichkeiten für persönliche Dinge als nicht ausreichend. Aber es gibt gute Neuigkeiten von der ITB diese Woche. Air Berlin präsentierte ihren neuen Business Class Sitz, den sie optimiert und noch komfortabler gestaltet haben. Die aktuelle Konfiguration wird ansonsten beibehalten.

Service

Eines der Besten Speise- und Getränkeangebote, die ich bisher an Bord eines Flugzeugs erlebt habe. Die Gerichte waren schmackhaft, warm und schön angerichtet. Das Speise- und Getränkeangebot war reichhaltig, die Auswahl groß. Sehr zufrieden war ich mit der Tatsache, dass ich einen Espresso zu meinem Dessert bestellen konnte und das auf Wunsch Zwischenmahlzeiten serviert wurden. Da der vordere Teil der Kabine klein ist, ist der Service so individual wie in einem Restaurant. Zum servieren der Getränke und Speisen werden keine Trollies benutzt. Meiner Meinung nach gab es auf der Karte zu viele Fleischgerichte. Veganer und Vegetarier können jedoch spezielle Speisen vorbestellen. (Auch in der Economy)

flying in airberlin business cass

Entertainment

Die Bordunterhaltung bietet Musik, Show, Spiele, Filme und vieles mehr. Die Auswahl an Filmen ist nicht die Größte, aber sie ist gut genug um einen 10 Stunden Flug zu überstehen. Meine Filmempfehlungen: Suicide Squad und Die Insel der besonderen Kinder. Die Kopfhörer sind angenehm zu tragen und reduzieren die Hintergrundgeräusche recht gut.

flying in airberlin business cass
pilot patrick approaching pju dominican republic

Air Berlin exquisite

Air Berlin bietet allen Passagieren, die ein Economy Ticket gekauft haben, an auf ein Business Class upgrade zu bieten. Dieser online Service nennt sich airberlin equisite. Den Preis kannst Du dabei selbst bestimmen. 12 Stunden vor Abflug wirst Du darüber informiert, ob Dein Gebot erfolgreich war. Ich habe diesen Service schon einmal genutzt und war froh in der Business Class nach Miami geflogen zu sein. Das Upgrade hatte mich ungefähr 500€ gekostet. (ein Weg)

Mein Urlaub startete bereits beim betreten des Flugzeugs. Für mich ist es Luxus, wenn ich mich ausstrecken kann und während des Fluges liegend schlafen kann. Der hohe Preis für die Tickets hat sich definitiv gelohnt, vor allem weil ich nur für sechs Nächte in Punta Cana war. So konnte ich den „jet lag“ reduzieren!

flying in airberlin business cass
Bed in the sky

Wo kann man buchen?
www.airberlin.com

Wohin?
Non stop von Berlin und Düsseldorf:  Miami (Mia), Los Angeles (LAX), Abu Dhabi (AHU), New York (JFK), Punta Cana (PUJ), Havanna (HAV )  Cancun (CUN), Chicago (ORD) …

Annehmlichkeiten der Business Class

  • Willkommensgetränk
  • Amenity Kit mit Kosmetik
  • Decke und Kopfkissen
  • Speise- und Getränkeauswahl
  • Bordunterhaltung
  • Priority boarding
  • Zugang zur Lounge
  • Höhere Freigepäckmenge

Insider Tipps

  • Reserve a seat free of charge when booking your ticket
  • Exquisite: Du kannst ein Gebot auf freie Plätze in der Business Class abgeben
  • XL Economy Sitze bieten mehr Platz in der Economy Class
  • Registriere Dich beim Top Bonus Programm und sammle Meilen für Freiflüge

Wo fliegst Du als nächstes hin?

Dein Pilot Patrick

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Hinterlasse den ersten Kommentar!

Leave me a comment!

  Subscribe  
Benachrichtige mich zu:

GET MY NEW #AVIATORBRACELET AND SUPPORT MY CAHRITY PROJECT!

GET IT NOW

Air Berlin Business Class review

Air Berlin Business Class review
11/03/2017 pilotpatrick
flying in airberlin business cass

“As much as I love to fly myself I also enjoy the time as passenger, especially when traveling comfortably in an airplane.”

My last long range flight in business class was with Lufthansa to Cape Town last January. That is why I was super excited to fly with Air Berlin in their business class for a spontaneous vacation in the Caribbean. Air Berlin offers non stop connections from Berlin and Düsseldorf to destinations in North America, Middle America and to Abu Dhabi.

The outbound connection was with a short layover in Düsseldorf. The flight AB7446 departed at 09:50 to Punta Cana (PUJ) and touched down in paradise already at 14:30. The return flight AB7315 was nonstop back to Berlin departing at 16:50. Read my review about the flight experience in Air Berlin’s business class.

flying in airberlin business cass

Seat

The business class cabin is Air Berlin’s premium product since they do not offer a first class. The business class cabin is located in the front section of their A330 long haul fleet. With only 19 seats the cabin is really intime and tranquil. That is a big plus compared to other major airlines, where the cabin is much bigger and noisier. All business class seats offer direct aisle access and convert to a fully flat bed. I am 1,86 m tall and I could fully stretch out. I could lay comfortable on the site and on my back, but I found the seat width a little bit too narrow.

My seat on the outward was 4K which was situated directly at the window providing extra privacy and extra shoulder width due to the curvature of the cabin. A seat at the aisle has the advantage that it is easier to get in and out. The 6 seats in the middle I recommend only to couples traveling together since the seats are quite close to each other.

flying in airberlin business cass
flying in airberlin business cass

Unfortunately my inflight entertainment was not working properly on both flights. I found that the storage for personal belongings was not sufficient. But good news from the ITB this week. Air Berlin presented their new business class seat, which they have modified to be even more comfortable. The current configuration will stay the same.

Service

One of the best food and beverage service I have had on board of a plane so far. The meals where delicious, hot and well presented. The food and beverage menu was rich in variety. I really liked the fact that I could have an espresso to my dessert and snacks in between meals. Since the front cabin is small the service is individual like in a restaurant. There are no big trollies moving around for food and drinks. In my opinion there was a little bit too much meat on the menu. But in case you are vegetarian or vegan you can always request special meals prior the flight (also in economy)

flying in airberlin business cass

Entertainment

The inflight entertainment offers music, show, games, movies and much more. The selection of movies is not the biggest but it is well enough for a 10 hour flight. My movie recommendation: Suicide Squad and Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar. The headset is comfortable to wear and reduces background noise quite well.

flying in airberlin business cass
pilot patrick approaching pju dominican republic

Air Berlin exquisite

Air Berlin offers all passengers who book an economy ticket to bid on available business class seats. This online service is called airberlin equisite. The price is completely set by yourself. 12 hours prior to departure you will find out whether the bid was successful. I used this kind of auction and was lucky to fly in business class to Miami. The upgrade was around 500€ (one way)

My vacation already started when boarding the aircraft. For me it is luxury to stretch out and have a good sleep in a flat position on board. The high price was definitely worth it since I only stayed for six nights in Punta Cana. This is how I could reduce my jet lag!

flying in airberlin business cass
Bed in the sky

Where to book?
www.airberlin.com

Where to fly?
Non stop from Berlin and Düsseldorf:  Miami (Mia), Los Angeles (LAX), Abu Dhabi (AHU), New York (JFK), Punta Cana (PUJ), Havanna (HAV )  Cancun (CUN), Chicago (ORD) …

Amenities in business class

  • Welcome drink
  • Amenity Kit with cosmetics
  • Blanket and pillow
  • Food and drink menu
  • Inflight Enterainment
  • Priority boarding
  • Lounge access
  • higher baggage allowance

Insider tips

  • Reserve a seat free of charge when booking your ticket
  • Exquisite: You can bit on available business class seats
  • XL Economy seats offer more space in economy class
  • Sign up for top bonus to collect miles for free flights

Where is your next flight taking you to?

Your Pilot Patrick

13 Comments

  1. Sabse 9 months ago

    Nice review! I prefere Emirates. My next flight goes to Hong Kong!

    • Author
      pilotpatrick 9 months ago

      Hey Sabse,

      for sure! Emirates has a really nice business class and first class too!

      Happy Landings

      Your Pilot Patrick

      • Sabse 9 months ago

        even the eco is good! 😉

  2. nimitguptamba 9 months ago

    Hi Patrick, Greetings of a beautiful day! I can’t see any other traveler alongside with you in the business class.Were you alone into it? And who took your pictures inside the business class? Air Berlin crew? Have a very good, and relaxing weekend, Cheers!

    • Author
      pilotpatrick 9 months ago

      Hello! I was not the only one in business class. All seats were actually occupied. Watch the Facebook of me boarding then you see other passengers. Mostly they were shoot by myself or with self timer 😉 Thanks a lot. Have a good weekend too. Happy landings Patrick

  3. Rania 8 months ago

    Hey captain Patrick ♥ the new design is amazing :-). Greetings and kisses from my room 🙂

    • Author
      pilotpatrick 8 months ago

      Thx a lot! 😉

    • Author
      pilotpatrick 8 months ago

      Hello Rania,
      thanks for your nice feedback and sorry for my late reply. Many greetings!
      Patrick

  4. bitterhearts89 8 months ago

    Love the review and look forward to seeing more reviews on your upcoming adventures.

    • Author
      pilotpatrick 8 months ago

      I hope so too! 🙂

    • Author
      pilotpatrick 8 months ago

      That makes me happy to hear! Next flight will be soon. Then I will share my first experience in First Class.
      Happy landings! Patrick

  5. Ian Renfrew 8 months ago

    Thanks for this Patrick, I will be flying AIr Berlin in July 14thBusiness Class From Berlin to Abu Dhabi. I will be in Berlin for 7 day (Working working working) Conference.
    Really appreciate the review

    • Author
      pilotpatrick 8 months ago

      Hello Ian,
      that is cool. Have a good flight. If you are traveling alone get a window seat. In row 2 they are the best.
      Have a save trip already! Patrick

Leave me a comment!